WWW Wednesday – July 1, 2020

In an attempt to try and be more consistent with my blogging, I thought I’d try doing the WWW Wednesday tag hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Since I don’t have any semblance of a posting schedule and don’t review every book I read, I figured this might be a way for me to give some quick thoughts about what I’m reading. 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading Black Enough which is an anthology of short stories edited by Ibi Zoboi. I bought this along with The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas for the #BlackPublishingPower challenge. Black Enough contains stories by a multitude of black authors that speak to the experience of being black in America. I haven’t read much yet but I am excited to read from a perspective outside of my own and hopefully discover some new-to-me black authors.

I’ve finished a couple of books since last Wednesday. First was These Witches Don’t Burn by Isabel Sterling. This YA book about elemental witches got a high three stars from me and and finished it in just a couple of days. I really enjoyed the plot since it had an element of mystery and suspense. I think where it lost me was the characters. I didn’t really feel connected to any of them besides Gemma. Keep a lookout for my June wrap-up for more of my thoughts on this book.

Since last Wednesday, I also read Riley Sager’s Home Before Dark. I had two days left of the month and really wanted to squeeze in one more books. This one was SCARY, like I ran down my hallway the other night because I was so creeped out. Sager has a way of making you think one thing is going to happen and then throwing you for a loop but the ending of this particular book REALLY had me shocked. I am planning to write a dedicated review because it was definitely my favorite book this month.

Next up for me is probably The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan. This is the second book in the Percy Jackson series and since I really enjoyed the first book in May, I’m really excited to continue the series. I don’t know anything about the plot and really want to go in blind so I’m just going to have faith that Riordan can create magic and enjoyment a second time. I didn’t get to read this in June even though it was in my initial plans but from here out, I want to try and read one book from the series each month and finish in October. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; I’m mad I didn’t read this series earlier.

Have you read any of these books? What are you reading? If you participate in WWW Wednesday, link me your posts!

Published by

dearbookshelves

I'm somehow done with school and I still want to talk about books.

19 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – July 1, 2020”

Leave a comment