WWW Wednesday – August 5, 2020

Since I’m really enjoying checking in here weekly, I’m going to continue doing the WWW Wednesday tag hosted by Taking on a World of Words. I like having a chance mid-week to share what I’m reading and see what you guys are up to, as well.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid. I haven’t read too much but I am really enjoying the format most of all. I like having the sort of news clippings between chapters. I really like that Reid incorporates interesting elements to the format of her narratives. That was one of the reasons I love Daisy Jones & the Six so much.

Like last week, I finished three books since last Wednesday and DNFd an audiobook. First, I finished Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia. I think this book was SUPER creepy and I really appreciated the commentary on imperialism. I *almost* wish I was still in school and had an opportunity to write an entire paper on this novel. Having horror intersect with imperialism is so fascinating to me.

I also finished The Existence of Amy by Lana Grace Riva. This book was sent to me by the author in exchange for a review that I plan to post Monday so I’ll keep my discussion here brief. This book follows Amy in what appears to be a normal life but readers get insight into the ways OCD and depression can make normal things such as an office job and public transit so much more difficult. I think the first half reads a bit like a character study but the plot really picks up in the second half and has some important conversations about mental health that might also be applied to other “invisible illnesses.”

I know I said this month that I didn’t think I’d have any library holds coming through but just before Hurricane Isaias hit, I was blessed with Hunger by Roxane Gay. Since we lost power and my tablet was charged, I was able to read this through the night. Hunger is a powerful memoir about trauma, food, weight, and so many other topics – not just literal hunger, but hunger for affection, attention, and being able to indulge in femininity. I highly recommend this powerful read. I would check trigger warnings since this book deals with rape and disordered eating among other difficult topics.

Lastly, I DNFd the audiobook for Lost by Gregory Maguire. I thought the Wicked series was decent but everything else I’ve picked up by Maguire just hasn’t done it for me. I found myself bored and confused around 20% through the audiobook and just decided to call it a wash. I have a ton of other things to read on my shelves.

I think next I will pick up The Complete Stories by Zora Neale Hurston. I want to be able to finish all of my longer books on my TBR before I go back to work on the 20th. As long as no other library holds come in *knock on wood*, I think this will be manageable.

Have you read any of these books? What are you reading? If you participate in WWW Wednesday, link me your posts!

Published by

dearbookshelves

I'm somehow done with school and I still want to talk about books.

22 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – August 5, 2020”

    1. I feel like I’m taking forever to recover from the hurricane on the east coast the other night so I just haven’t really been reading much of EH and I hate that for me. Not that I’m not enjoying, I’m just mentally *TIRED* lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would be the same. I am not scared of many things, but storms freak me out (and we don’t even get hurricane strength ones usually!). Hope your mind will settle soon!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Such wonderful books. I’ve heard great things about Mexican Gothic. And, I absolutely adore Zoe’s Neale Hurston’s works, especially There Eyes Were Watching God. Happy Reading!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any of these but I do have both The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and Mexican Gothic on my Amazon wishlist so I remember to buy them. I hope you are able to tackle your longer reads this week!

    My WWW Wednesday post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sam, I haven’t read any of these, but I have been hearing good things about Mexican Gothic, which has got me really intrigued by it. Shame about the one DNF but otherwise looks like a great week of reading – I wish you more happy reading this week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment