WWW Wednesday – August 26, 2020

Since I’m really enjoying checking in here weekly, I’m going to continue doing the WWW Wednesday tag hosted by Taking on a World of Words. I like having a chance mid-week to share what I’m reading and see what you guys are up to, as well.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

The theme for August is that I’m, again, in the middle of three books. While continuing to read a short story each day from The Complete Stories by Zora Neale Hurston, I’m also listening to Where the Past Begins by Amy Tan. I’m not sure how I feel about this book yet. I enjoy hearing stories from her life and about her writing process but sometimes the writing feels a little too lofty for me. I am excited to hear more about her work with linguistics, though. I’ve always been really interested in linguistics and studied it a bit in grad school, but I’d always like to hear more about it.

I’m also *almost* done reading I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou. I’m enjoying reading this memoir as Angelou creates an immersive experience and contains both fun and exciting scenes paired with some much more serious and sad anecdotes from her life. I’m reading this fairly slowly both because I’m having a hard time focusing on anything for long and because the new semester is taking up so much of my time but I should be able to finish it today.

I was able to finish two books since last week. One was the audiobook for The Marvelous Land of Oz – the second book in the Wizard of Oz series. I really enjoyed this book. It doesn’t have the iconic factor of the first book but I think there are some strong women in this book and there is still so much adventure and magic involved.

I was also able to finish the third Percy Jackson book – The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan. So far, this is my favorite book in the series and was just so exciting! I really enjoyed meeting Nico and hope he’ll stick around (after THAT reveal, I’m sure he will). I can’t wait to read the fourth book in the series next month. I really am ready to see where this story goes and already want to get the next series in this universe. I’m thankful there’s so much more to read!

Who knows what audiobook I’ll find next but I know that as far as physical reading, I’d like to get to The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi. This was my BOTM pick for August and I’m not completely sure how to explain the plot so I’ll link you to the Goodreads synopsis. This is a fairly short book and I just might be able to finish it before the end of the month if I can start focusing again.

Have you read any of these books? What are you reading? If you participate in WWW Wednesday, link me your posts!

Published by

dearbookshelves

I'm somehow done with school and I still want to talk about books.

20 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – August 26, 2020”

Leave a comment