WWW Wednesday – September 23, 2020

You might have noticed that I took a week or so off from writing on my blog but things have been pretty stressful and chaotic for me so I just needed some time step back and rest for a bit but I’m back in some capacity now. So here I am with the WWW Wednesday tag hosted by Taking on a World of Words. I like having a chance mid-week to share what I’m reading and see what you guys are up to, as well.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently continuing to read through The Bridge Called My Back which is a collection of letters, poems, and essays written by women of color and deal heavily with intersectional feminism. I find myself constantly underlining and making notes and just thinking about each piece. It takes me a while to get through each piece because of that, but it’s completely worth it.

I am also reading My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell. I am about halfway through this book and it’s really heavy. It follows two timelines – one when Vanessa was fifteen and being abused by her English teacher and the other seventeen years later and new allegations are coming out against the same man. This book does not shy away from the subject matter in any way so I would be cautious going into this but it is very well written and heartbreaking.

I won’t go through everything I’ve read since the last time I posted one of these but I will talk about my last two reads. This is the month of library holds and throwing my TBR out the window so I picked up Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert recently. I really enjoyed Chloe Brown and didn’t think it could get better but it did. This romance has fake dating, an English PhD student, and a grumpy security guard. It’s fun and sweet and steamy and just a really great time. I usually don’t care about romance but something about Talia Hibbert gets me every time.

I was also able to finally read Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender. I usually feel pretty average about YA contemporaries but this one truly surprised me. It wasn’t just about Felix being trans and trying to deal with the aftermath of someone posting old photos and his deadname at school. It’s also about love between friends, romantic love, acceptance, and identity. I don’t have anything unique to add to all the praise this book has been given but just pick it up if you can!

Next, I’m going to pick up Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson because it’s currently waiting for me in the Libby app. This is a mystery about a girl named Claudia who is looking for her friend, Monday, who is missing and no one else seems to notice. I have had this on my wishlist for a while and am excited to get to it and see if it’s something I definitely want to own.

Have you read any of these books? What are you reading? If you participate in WWW Wednesday, link me your posts!

Published by

dearbookshelves

I'm somehow done with school and I still want to talk about books.

13 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – September 23, 2020”

    1. Thanks! I’m trying to get my brain back to wanting to do things and that can certainly be difficult.

      I just finished last night and I think it was heavy and frustrating in a lot of ways BUT I also think pieces of that “messiness” or those elements in present day people might read and be mad at are realistic for some situations. I had to sit a while and think about my own experiences and the way I thought afterwards and parts of it felt close to my own thoughts (certainly not everything, though. I primarily resonated with the “not that bad [FOR ME]” mindset and the risky behaviors). I am still thinking through the commentary on the value of speaking out because I do think it’s important to bring everything to light but it can also be incredibly traumatizing. I have… a lot of thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I felt a similar way! In parts it was frustrating for me too, but at the same time I knew that her thoughts and feelings behind it were realistic for her situation. I know for other readers their frustration made the book unbearable but I thought it showed just how incredibly difficult the aftermath of situations like these are and how and why speaking out can be so difficult. But yeah…there was definitely so much I’ve been thinking on since I’ve read it.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m so happy you also liked Felix Ever After! 😊 And I seriously need to get my hands on Take a Hint, Dani Brown. I adored following Chloe as a character, but if you say this book is even better, I’m all here for it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment